Day Four of Ten in 2010

Here is my post for the first 4 days of Week 1 in the Ten in 2010 challenge (10 weeks to getting healthy).

I was feeling a little better yesterday about the lifestyle change (diet). I do feel “lighter”, although the scale was telling me something quite different (until this morning – yeah!). I was so hungry when I went to bed the other night that I was certain I would wake up in the middle of the night and be forced to at least have a glass of warm skim milk to get me back to sleep, but I slept through the night for the most part.

Now armed with a new set of “healthy” recipes, the last few days turned out to be somewhat frustrating as my hubby and I spent the better part of those days driving all over Atlanta looking for certain foods, spices, ingredients and supplements that are in hiding or are elusive….Some of these are things that I have used quite a bit and are sometimes hard to find and then there are items that it seems are nowhere to be found!

We went to Harry’s (Whole Foods Farmer’s Market), the International Market, Publix and several Hispanic and Brazilian grocery stores. Ok, now I wonder if these recipes are playing tricks on me…does anybody really cook with this stuff?? (The International Market does, however, have a whole goat in a bag if you are looking for that!)

With the help of the the internet and the phone, I finally found all of the remaining ingredients and went there yesterday. This truly does becomes absurd. This is why I prefer classic dishes that I can prepare from regular grocery store ingredients. Sometimes the International stuff is just too hard to find. But, I am now feeling better after the 3 days of searching are over and these nifty little ingredients are comfortably sitting in my kitchen! Best of all, I now have new sources for International ingredients.

So, other than that, how am I doing?

Day 1
1. No exercise (other than running through grocery stores all day, cooking and cleaning kitchen)
2. Breakfast – V-8 juice, Kashi cereal with skim milk (I was hungry in an hour), coffee with Stevia (2 cups to wake up!)
Lunch – Greek Salad with 1 tablespoon dressing, water
Dinner – Soup (I liked it, but my husband did not)
3. Wine – Don’t ask
4. Pounds lost – Doesn’t count yet

Day 2
1. No exercise (other than running through grocery stores all day, cooking and cleaning kitchen)
2. Breakfast – V-8 juice, oatmeal with skim milk (I was hungry in an hour), coffee (2 cups always!)
3. Lunch – 1/2 sandwich at Harry’s (Whole grain bread, turkey, swiss, lettuce, mustard), water
4. Dinner- chicken with salsa, brown and wild rice (Lundberg), steamed spinach
5. Wine – Don’t ask
6. Nibbles – I did sneak a few pretzel nuggets. (Thank goodness I am not Carrie Underwood…she has written down EVERY morsel of food she has eaten in the last 3 years! Now I am sorry, but that is just not right! I guess that is why she is Carrie Underwood and I am not!)
7. Pounds lost – Should I really be counting yet?

Day 3
1. Exercised my jaw at the dentist for a cleaning
2. Breakfast – 1/2 grapefruit, 1 egg, 1 slice yummy Sweetwater 460 (yes, the beer) whole wheat bread from Harry’s, coffee
3. Very healthy fish dinner
4. Wine – Don’t ask
5. Pounds lost – Okay I will start now – “0”!

Day 4
1. Exercise – too early in the day to tell (it is only 9 am)
2. Breakfast – had my warm water with lemon, am drinking coffee now
3. Pounds lost – 1 1/2! Whooppeeee!

I feel more like Bridget Jones…maybe I will even start to smoke (just kidding)!

I know I will adjust. It gets easier. My husband just got a Breville juicer yesterday (gotta love Amazon…ordered it from the comforts of the living room and poof! it’s here next day!). He has already concocted an apple, strawberry and celery drink…pretty yummy…pretty messy! He is also checking out reviews on grain grinders so that we make our own breads all the time. Just put that ball and chain right by the stove and come and find me later!

All kidding aside, I did prepare a dish on Day 2 that jumped out at me from the pages of the new Fine Cooking when I saw it. It was screaming colorful and healthy! Besides that, we picked up avocados at the International Market for the bargain price of 2 for $1.00 and my hubby loves avocados. Besides, they are on the good food list for him.

The dish is Chicken Paillards with Avocado and Pomegranate Salsa. It sounded yummy from all the combined flavors in the marinade for the chicken and the salsa (lemon, jalepeno pepper, parsley, pomegranate, green onions). Besides, “paillards” is a French term and I am desperate for anything French at the moment! If you are interested in the recipe, it is in the February/March issue. Click here for the link.

It was a nice dish and quite attractive. It was light, but tasty. I did not make many adjustments other than to make half of the recipe. If I were to make it again, I would add some jalepeno in the marinade for the chicken and probably a bit more in the salsa. The flavors were so subtle, that it needs to be kicked up a notch with some heat. I think that I want stronger flavors in foods when some of the fattier ingredients are missing, but overall, it was a nice dish and certainly appealing to the eye.

So, over all, we are on the right road. My husband is down 3 pounds and I am lighter by 1 1/2 pounds. It makes it easier to stay with the plan when progress is being made. We also get to look forward to one “cheating” day this weekend. Once a week we get to have whatever we want (within reason, of course). It gives us something to look forward each week.

Good luck to all of you with your Ten in 2010 challenge!

Leave a comment

Filed under Avocados, Chicken, Diet, Entrees, Low-fat, Pomegranate, Ten in 2010

Leave a Reply

